Non-specific topics of any nature.

Moderator: Moderators

Ockerstrom
Junior participant
Junior participant

2 or 4 stroke? (newbie here obviously)

Postby Ockerstrom » Fri Apr 03, 2015 5:06 pm

New on here, so Hi everyone. :D

Also new to wanting a Trials bike (though far from new to riding motorcycles, 43 years since I bought my first bike, and currently still have bikes #18 and #20 in the garage.. sold #16 last night).

So two stroke or four?

I'd lean to four stroke personally, and I'm not looking to do serious competition trials.. maybe "observed trials" I think it is called.

Open to suggestions though.

And also anywhere around Sydney I could go to try out bikes and see what goes on before I buy one would be good, if that option exists?

Please make all the other suggestions appropriate to my "dumb questions" status on the forum.

Cheers,
Ock.

Dirt_drifter
C grade participant
C grade participant
Bike: Gg280
Club: Wmcc

Re: 2 or 4 stroke? (newbie here obviously)

Postby Dirt_drifter » Fri Apr 03, 2015 6:01 pm

I'm new to trials but not new to dirt bikes. Biggest downside I've noticed with the two stroke and trials is exhaust fumes. You come home smelling like muffler packing!

dragster1964
B grade participant
B grade participant
Bike: TL125, 2011 Raga 250
Club: MWMCC

Postby dragster1964 » Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:13 pm

As to the riding area in Sydney, I would go to Pacific Pk at Sth Maroota on the Hawkesbury Rvr and talk to people there. The Aussie titles are being held there in August so are Trials friendly. Check the calendar on here to see when there is an event on there and all your questions may get answered.

The Hell Team
Dealer
Dealer

Postby The Hell Team » Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:45 pm

Any weekend, especially Sundays you will find plenty of Trialsriders up at Pacific Park. All friendly and willing to help new riders. it's a great place to start.