Road reg trials bikes

Want to say something about trials? Let the world know in here!

Moderator: Moderators

skippy
Junior participant
Junior participant

Road reg trials bikes

Postby skippy » Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:25 am

Here is the problem... I'm wanting to get into trials (absolute beginner) and a bike that I can use for trail riding as well would be perfect. I'm thinking here of the Gas Gas Randonne or the Sherco X-ride.

With no rec reg in NSW it is difficult for riders to get anything like this registered, and it couldn't be ridden in state forest without registration. Could I get the bike certifed myself (as if it were a private import or a self-built vehicle and get full road reg? Would the cost be prohibitive?

skippy

S.E.Lucas
B grade participant
B grade participant
Bike: 00 290, 4RT

Re: Road reg trials bikes

Postby S.E.Lucas » Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:16 pm

Half-heartedly looked into it a while back mainly because I can go out my driveway into state forest. Can't remember much other than I considered doing the dodgy with a crf compliance plate. Best bet is probably hit up Briggs & Davidson forums as I'd imagine they have more people getting custom frames. Unless someone here knows for sure. Everything I came up with via rta and dbw said it was pretty impossible :?

The Hell Team
Dealer
Dealer

Postby The Hell Team » Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:33 pm

The Randonne is currently being processed for ADR compliance and full road registration, but the government departments that are involved don't supply us with a time frame on completion. So it could be a month, it could be six to get the final documentation passed!
The Gas Gas Randonne has full European E9 ECE homologation so should roll through an individual compliance, but it also depends on what company you choose to do the compliancing work. We can put you in touch with a compliance engineer in Sydney if you need it.