Trials Australia Logo

October 4-5th — Mount Joy, Near Cressy - Tasmania


New South Wales rider Kyle Middleton displayed fantastic form to win the Open Solo title at the Australian Moto Trials Championships in Tasmania. Victorian rider Tim Coleman put in the best performance on Sunday to secure 2nd place overall with NSW rider Colin Zarczynski third and Tasmanian Chris Bayles fourth.

The last time Tasmania hosted this event was in 1985 on the north west coast and this year’s venue at Mt Joy was in excellent shape, with clear blue skies on both days.



Middleton, who was suffering from a shoulder injury said "It was a really high pressure event, sections were not easy. We were all close, Colin was right behind me at the start of the day and I got a 5 which had me worried, but I just pulled it together, kept riding and pulled it off."

The Open Women's class Michelle Coleman from ACT rode a clean lap on day 2 to take the win over NSW rider and 2013 Women's champion Kristie McKinnon. Victorian riders Brooke Lonie and Ina Halls finished third and fourth respectively. McKinnon, Lonie and Halls represented Australia last month in the Trial des Nations in Andorra where they placed 7th overall.


NSW expert rider Jono Chellas dominated the Youth class both days with Bradley Bryant QLD in second and Victorian rider Zachary Mularczyk in third. Chellas was the highest ranking 125cc Aussie rider in the Trial World Championship in Maldon, Victoria earlier this year.

The Junior class was tied on day one between the top three riders. After some section changes overnight Ruben Chadwick from Queensland secured the victory with QLD rider Thomas Wager finishing second and South Australian Connor Hogan third.

The President of the Tasmanian Motorcycle Trials Club said "Spectator numbers were really good and the gate takings were really strong. The general feedback about the event from everyone has been brilliant."

The Australian Moto Trials Championships will be held in New South Wales next year.

Click read more for full results and photos.


Photos from both days are here: 2014 Australian Moto Trials Championships photos

Full Results are here: Download results for all classes


Open Solo

1: Kyle Middleton (Gas Gas - NSW) 13 points;
2: Tim Coleman (Beta - VIC) 34 points;
3: Colin Zarczynski (Gas Gas - NSW) 43 points; 

Open Women

1: Michelle Coleman (Sherco - NSW) 9 points;
2: Kristie McKinnon (Gas Gas - NSW) 13 points;
3: Brooke Lonie (Gas Gas - VIC) 23 points; 


1: Jono Chellas (Gas Gas - NSW) 16 points;
2: Bradley Bryant (Gas Gas - QLD) 44 points;
3: Zachary Mularczyk (Beta - VIC) 46 points;


1: Ruben Chadwick (Beta - QLD) 3 points;
2: Thomas Wager (Sherco - QLD) 8 points;
3: Connor Hogan (Gas Gas - SA) 12 points;


1: Simon Van Baalen (Beta) 54 points;
2: Martin O'Connor (Sherco) 57 points;
3: Toby Coleman (Gas Gas) 60 points;

Veterans 40-49

1: Andrew Tarrant (Beta) 6 points;
2: Matthew Hannaford (Beta) 11 points;
3: Glen Crafter (Sherco) 13 points;

Veterans 50-59

1: Tom Rafferty (Beta) 1 point;
2: Peter Bayles (Gas Gas) 12 points;
3: Robert White (Sherco) 13 points;

Veterans 60

1: John Waterworth (Beta) 35 points;
2: Neil Berne (Beta) 87 points;
3: Ken Hosking (Beta) 183 points;

Junior 7-12

1: David McDonald (Sherco) 1 point;
2: Ben Franco (Beta) 5 points;
3: Alex Cowan (Gas Gas) 11 points;

Junior Women

1: Aurora Hartshorn (Gas Gas) 2 points;
2: Sarah Chivers (Scorpa) 7 points;
3: Jasmine Tarrant (Beta) 64 points;

Post Classic

1: Steve Johnson (Honda) 3 points;
2: Malcolm Chapman (Yamaha) 16 points;
3: Kurt Pickering (Yamaha) 27 points;


1: Tony Bax (Triumph) 8 points;
2: Brendan Johnson (BSA) 13 points;
3: Paul Sens (CZ) 18 points;


1: Justin Foot/Melissa Foot 222 points;
2: Rodney Coupland/Anthony Milham 300 points;

Leave a Reply

Enter + Pay Online